MS Bike Tour 2011

A few weeks back my wife Stephanie, brother Jason and long time friend Mike embarked on an epic journey to help end multiple sclerosis by raising money and partaking in a bike ride that led us roughly 170km from Grand Bend on the shores of Lake Huron to University of Western Ontario in the heart of London, Ontario and back.

This is my fifth bike tour in support of this cause. I’ll be the first to admit, when I did my first ride in Niagara, I had no clue of what multiple sclerosis was let alone anyone living with it. I guess it was just an excuse to get out and do something different. A year later I learned a friend of mine was diagnosed with MS. Since then I’ve met people with MS, and people who have family members with MS.

MS is caused by damage to the protective coating that surronunds nerve cells. Nerve damage is caused by inflamation. Inflamation occurs when the body’s own immune cells attack the nervous system. Researchers are not sure what triggers this inflammation.

Sure it was a great time to get out and do some bike riding with friends and family in some fantastic weather, but it was also a chance to learn more about MS and play our part. This event alone had around 1,800 participants who raised over $1 million to support research and help families living with MS. As long as I’m able to participate in these rides I will.

Please take a moment to support the MS Society of Canada.

Leave a Reply

