Viewing the World Through a Glass Lens

For a long time now, I’ve had an unrealized interest in photography. The ability to view the world from a different perspective has always intrigued me. I remember working in Sault Ste. Marie and taking my old school point and shoot camera, (a Kodak EasyShare DX4330) into the forest, where I would lie on the ground and shoot some closeups of fungi, bugs, flowers and plants – some of which turned out quite good.

I had never given any thought to pursuing it as a hobby as the costs seem too far out of reach. Well it’s true, that there can be substantial start-up costs, I figure they’ll eventually level out and I can work with what I have. First thing is first, buy a camera. There is an unbelievable amount of choice out there, and for someone like myself who is just starting to venture into this world, it was definitely scary. How are you supposed to sort through which camera fits you best, when you don’t have a clue about any of the terminology? Easy. The Internet. There are endless resources out there to help newcomers onto the scene.

I spend a solid fortnight reading about camera terminology just to be able to compare between different models. In the end, it all came down to price, as I went with a Nikon D3100. It quickly became apparent that reading and understanding photography terminology was one thing, while actually putting it to practice was going to be quite a different challenge. Since I did go to school for geomatics which had a large focus on remote sensing, topics such as the electromagnetic spectrum and histograms were fairly easy concepts to grasp. But knowing how to interpret and modify a histogram using camera settings to get an optimal signature is a whole other story.

Next post will have photos, I promise.

Leave a Reply

