It’s Better Than Bad, It’s Good

That’s right! The title for this post is based off the early 90’s cartoon Ren and Stimpy for their advertising of a non-existent product – Log. It made me recall a time back in the fall when we were up in Bancroft visiting my wifes family, and I got outside with the camera and snapped some pictures before dark. I had considered using this photo in a previous post I did about that trip, but didn’t feel it fit well with the other subjects.

When I first purchased my camera, I had been doing a lot of reading on composition and things that make interesting photos. I tasked myself with taking pictures of specific elements that make up good photographic composition. One of my first posts using the new camera was on identifying lines in nature, with the intent of searching out patterns, shapes, textures, colours, and so on. I decided to show this photo because of the obvious circles of varying sizes and contrast between light and dark.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

Leave a Reply

