Another Gear Older

Yet another posting about the camera clubs outing this past Thursday. Don’t worry, I only have one more post after this then I’ll move on. The two photos below are my favourite from the entire outing. While circling the giant rail bridge, I noticed these gears which were used to pivot the bridge out of the way to allow boats to pass on the Trent River. The bridge has long been abandoned, the tracks ripped up and the rust taking over. I had to climb under the bridge to get these shots and the sun was low enough in the sky that it cast great shadows of the surrounding vegetation onto the gears. I feel that if I went back to this exact spot at a different time of day, the photos would take on a completely different look and feel. I’ll have to add that to my list of things to do.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

© 2012 Kevin Collins

Leave a Reply

