Safety Second

So I was leaning on the railing heading down the stairs yesterday and a baluster popped out. I thought it was weird, so I wiggled a couple others and they fell out too. Apparently when these were first installed nails had not been invented. What I find disturbing is that my 2.5 year old always uses the balusters to help climb and descend the staircase. He’s slipped a couple times and caught the railing without incident. Next step is to use the air nail gun to secure them in place. That is all.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

Leave a Reply

