The Movement of Water

Tonight our camera club headed to Millennium Park in downtown Peterborough, Ontario. The park is a small strip of green space wedged between downtown and the Otonabee River. I was immediately drawn towards the water feature in the centre of the park which includes a small man-made pond with a waterfall which I was looking forward to shooting. It’s not until you slow down the shutter speed that you realize there’s a definite movement of water through the pond. I took a dozen or so photos, about five of which I was happy with. I couldn’t decide which ones to post, so I’ve added them all. Click on the photo to enlarge.

When the shutter speed is slowed down, the movement of the water becomes apparent. The first two shots are of the same waterfall, but from different angles. In the first shot, I like how the eddy is revealed as a spiral. These first two shots were taken with a 2.5 second exposure.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

© 2012 Kevin Collins

The third shot was taken from the top of the waterfall looking down at the bottom. The silky white is actually moving water, which I think looks kind of neat against the colour of the rocks.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

This next shot might be my favourite of the set. I love the great S-curve revealed by the moving water, the green plant that breaks up the colour and adds some contrast, and the fact that you can see the rocks at the bottom of the pond (thanks to my polarizing filter). I think this photo adds some mystery as to why the water is flowing the way it does. This was taken with a 4 second exposure.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

This last shot is simply another angle of the one above showing a sweeping curve of the waters movement. Only a 2 second exposure.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

6 thoughts on “The Movement of Water

  1. I love seeing the movement of water, and these pictures are definitely a great representation of that! I really love the whirlpool in the first photo. Thanks for posting these photos, and good luck on future photo adventures. 🙂

    ~My Blog

Leave a Reply

