Photo of the Week: Week 22

© 2012 Kevin Collins

© 2012 Kevin Collins

This weeks post is from Ottawa. On the lower terrace of the Fairmont Château Laurier, there is a special photo exhibit to celebrate the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.  The exhibit highlights the Queen’s several visits to Canada since the early 1950s. Most of the photos are in black and white and mounted on a very colourful board.

Since the surrounding colour was fairly dull, I thought it might look neat as a selective colour photo. My wife doesn’t like selective colour photos, so I’ve provided both. Personally, I prefer the selective colour photo as it highlights the photos in the exhibit. Which one do you prefer?

3 thoughts on “Photo of the Week: Week 22

  1. I’m going to have to go with you on this one, Kevin (sorry Steph!) I find the brown in the benches keeps drawing my eyes away from the vibrant colours. Great shot from my hometown!

  2. Hey Kev, Normally I am not a big advocate of the selective colouring, however in this case I think your instincts were bang on. The selective colour really makes the image pop – the full colour version is too distracting and doesn’t have the same clean leading line. This is a really great shot!

Leave a Reply

