Dusk Over The Water

Last week I posted a picture of a sunset over the Bay of Quinte. It was my first opportunity to use my brand new filter system. I didn’t have much time to experiment with the settings so the photo was more orange than I would have liked. In the photos below I have tamed the orange filter quite a bit. They were both taken with the same graduated neutral density filter and a tobacco graduated filter. What differs is the exposure settings. There was a bit of wind that evening, (and some family members skipping stones), so a longer exposure was used to smooth out the water and create a more effective reflections.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

The above photo was taken at 32mm; f/32; 4 seconds.

© 2012 Kevin Collins

The above photo was taken at 46mm; f/32; 15 seconds.

6 thoughts on “Dusk Over The Water

    • I am super happy with the photo of the dock. It took a while to get it just right. Lately, I’ve been trying to slow down and think about what I’m trying to accomplish instead of just pointing, shooting, and hoping for the best. Thanks Mikey!

Leave a Reply

