Panning Trial

Lately, I’ve been intrigued by the photographic technique of panning. Basically moving the camera to keep the subject sharp so the background becomes blurry. I’ve wanted to try it for some time never really had the opportunity. I’ve heard this technique takes a lot of practice to master and after attempting it, I can see why. With a couple minutes to spare this afternoon, I decided to sit on my front door step with the camera on the tripod and wait for some cars to drive by. Unfortunately, my street is a dead end so there is no though traffic. Just before I was about to give up, I heard a car coming. With the camera in “machine gun mode” I was able to snap four shots, the last one turning out the sharpest – but still quite blurry. This experiment has opened a whole new world of photography that I look forward to exploring.

55mm; F22; 1/15s; ISO 100

2 thoughts on “Panning Trial

Leave a Reply

