Portraits

This evening our photo group tried something new. Portraits with the full studio setup – backdrop, light umbrellas, and all sorts  of reflectors and other lights. This was my first time ever trying this type of photography. Normally, I try and do some research beforehand, but was unable to this week, so I simply experimented with different settings until I found some that worked.

In a normal studio shoot, there would be one photographer. The subjects would know exactly which camera to look at… obviously. We had 15 people all trying to take photos at the same time and it was near impossible to get the subjects to look in your direction. Plus we were outside. This was a real learning experience for me, and I’m somewhat pleased with how these turned out – even if not everyone is looking at the camera. I’m more pleased with the lighting than anything.

45mm; F5.6, 1/60s; ISO 800

48mm; F5.6; 1/80s; ISO 800

Leave a Reply

