Cordova Falls

Today was photography day for me. Having the day off work in lieu of Remembrance Day, I went to Cordova Falls at the south end of Cordova Lake, about a 20 minute drive north of Havelock, Ontario to photograph the waterfalls. A part of the Crowe River, this waterfall is a series of at least five distinct drops totalling 150 metres in length with a vertical drop of about 10 metres. I found it to be quite relaxing as there was not another person in sight and I was able to take my time to compose and set up each shot. I put a lot of conscious effort into the camera settings to produce the effect I was looking for. I also did a lot of experimentation which helped a lot.

48mm; f/14; 6s; ISO 100; ND8; ND4; Circular Polarizer

13mm; f/14; 13s; ISO 100; ND8; ND4; Circular Polarizer

22mm; f/10; 1/15s; ISO 100; ND4; Circular Polarizer

55mm; f/14; 4s; ISO 100; ND8; ND4; Circular Polarizer

52mm; f/14; 8s; ISO 100; ND8; ND4; Circular Polarizer

40mm; f/25; 25s; ISO 100; ND8; ND4; Circular Polarizer

24mm; f/11; 3s; ISO 100; ND8; Circular Polarizer

7 thoughts on “Cordova Falls

    • Thanks again good sir. I was really taking my time to think about composition and camera settings instead of taking as many shots as possible and hoping to get lucky. I spent a lot of time just watching how the water was moving in different directions in comparison to the surrounding rock formations. Once I found a composition I liked I took maybe 3 or 4 shots all with different shutter speeds until I got the effect I was looking for. Sometimes I was going for the super smooth, silky effect, and others I was trying to capture more of the motion of the water moving over the rocks as in #3. Anyways it was great fun!

      • It’s always awesome when you can take your time and really get a feel for a place. It’s one of the reasons I often go back to the same places – so you can get past the obvious and really see what the place is about.

Leave a Reply

