Burleigh Falls

I’ve finally thawed out enough to write this post. It was so cold. How cold was it? It was so cold, Tim Horton’s was serving coffee on a stick. Saturday morning the temperature was only about -3 degrees Celsius, but the wind was insane, making it feel more like -273 degrees Celsius. Anyways, this was the first time I’ve spent time at Burleigh falls for photography despite the fact that I used to live 5km up the road.

Woke up at 6am, picked up Pat at 6:30am, and made it to the falls just after 7am. The sun was hiding behind some clouds and it initially looked like it was going to be an overcast morning, but after 15-20 minutes, the clouds broke and the sun produced some amazing early morning light.

28mm; f/14; 2S; ISO 100

44mm; f/14; 1/4s; ISO 100

36mm; f/14; 1.3sl ISO 100

55mm; f/11; 1/2s; ISO 100

3 thoughts on “Burleigh Falls

  1. Nice work man. That first shot is one of your recent best. Great comp and shutter speed and I really like the colour contrast in the cool water and the warm trees.

    • Also forgot to mention that I’ve playing around with the shutter speed to get just the right amount of motion in the water. When I first started capturing moving water, like everyone else I think, I set the shutter speed to as long as I could to get the smoothest water possible. In recent times, I’ve tried to scale back and show that the water is actually moving, not as a smooth white sheet, but with texture. I think this is captured well in the third shot, which still captures the shape of the water/waves, and the aggressive nature of that particular set of rapids. Anyways, that’s enough rambling for now. 😉

Leave a Reply

