Toronto Walk

I recently returned home from 3.5 days in Toronto working at the Toronto Sportsmens Show. I brought my camera gear down hoping to find a couple hours to head out and grab some shots. Three places I wanted to go shoot were Brookfield Place, Union Station and City Hall. Time was running short so I wasn’t able to get to City Hall.

I had an idea to capture some longer exposures at these places to give some motion blur to the crowds but I forgot my tripod, and there weren’t as many people as I had hoped.

I’ve seen similar photos of these places online and wanted to take my own spin on them. I found shooting each spot a challenge due to the lighting. It was either quite dark (like the shot of Union Station – #3 below), or the range of light was too large to capture all the tonal information I wanted in a single shot. My camera doesn’t have the built-in bracketing functionality to help create an HDR.

Check out the full size versions of these photos over at http://500px.com/Photo_Collins

Leave a Reply

