John de Pencier Trail

Last Thursday our camera club went to some trails just south of Trent University in Peterborough, Ontario. I only recently learned that these trails even existed. I tend not to do much photography on walking trails for the simple reason, that I usually find them boring. Until now, most of the trails I’ve been on in this area are old railways, and like old railways, they are generally straight, flat and featureless.

It was refreshing to try out a new area and I was surprised how much there was to shoot. There were several well marked trails to choose from, so I randomly picked one and was rewarded with a winding trail that passed through a marsh containing what was left of a rusty car. The trail headed up a small hill that was covered in trilliums and was quite open, before heading back down a hill and along the Otonabee River. I was able to get some sunset shots over the water before the trail took me into an open area with lots of long grass. Before getting back to the car, the trail wound its way through some dark and spooky cedars.

When I returned back to the trailhead, I realized that I was the only person remaining from the camera club as everyone had ducked out early. I could have stayed there another couple hours if I had brought my tripod, but I didn’t, so I couldn’t. This one is going on my list of places to revisit and has renewed my interest in shooting trails.

Trail Signs

Trail Signs

Boardwalk

Boardwalk

New Life

New Life

The New and The Old

The New and The Old

Blossoms

Blossoms

Trail

Trail

The Road Less Travelled

The Road Less Travelled

Washed Up

Washed Up

Sunset Over the Otonabee River

Sunset Over the Otonabee River

Sunset Over the Otonabee River

Sunset Over the Otonabee River

Straight and Narrow

Straight and Narrow

