The Chapel

I’m proud of this image for a couple reasons.

  1. I have been playing around in Google Maps lately trying to find interesting places close to home to shoot. A couple nights a week, I’ll head out after the kids are in bed and drive around, (I call it scouting), looking for new locations and inspirations. Last night was just one of those nights. I ended up past Omemee on a side road looking for a particular bridge crossing a creek, but when I got there it didn’t look as I thought it would. On the way back I passed a small cemetery on the north side of Highway 7. I saw the small chapel in the back and made a U-turn and through the gates.
  2. I have really been making an effort with camera settings lately. When I first snapped this chapel, the sky was completely blown out – complete white. While I could have created an HDR image combining multiple shots with different exposures, I prefer trying to capture the entire tonal range in a single image (where possible). A quick look at the histogram and I knew it could be done. It’s small things like this that I love about photography – being able to analyze a scene and make decisions on the fly. By the time I returned to the car (about 20 feet away) the sun had completely dipped below the horizon and the warm glow on the side of the chapel was gone.

This shot also falls in line with my previous post on wide angle photography. Glad I was able to get out for 30 minutes or so with the camera last night. 

 

The Chapel

The Chapel

One thought on “The Chapel

Comments are closed.