Favourite Shots From 2013

Last year I think I did my top 10 favourite photos from the year. This year, there’s just no way I can narrow it down to 10… so I’ve just picked the photos that I love because of their significance to the advancement of my hobby or simply because the photo captures a great moment in my life.

When I think back on the past year (from a photography stand-point) it’s been a fantastic one, where I’ve got some great opportunities to shoot stuff I never would have. I’ve met some other fantastic photographers and shared stories and experiences, all of which have greatly contributed to this little hobby of mine.

I wanted to sincerely thank everyone who has taken the time to visit little corner of the web over the past year and left comments, sent a tweet or given it the ‘thumbs-up’ on Facebook. It’s always nice to know that people enjoy my work as much as I do.

Below are 24 shots (in no particular order) that I chose for this year. Click on the photo for the enlarged version. It will be a long post… so hang in there! Have a great 2014 and keep shooting!

Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG I took this shot back in February at the autoshow in Toronto, where the lighting was absolutely horrible. I chose this shot because of the amount of work done in post-processing to reduce the amount of reflections from the  overhead lights... and I like the perspective.

Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG I took this shot back in February at the autoshow in Toronto, where the lighting was absolutely horrible. I chose this shot because of the amount of work done in post-processing to reduce the amount of reflections from the  overhead lights… and I like the perspective.

Common Squirrel Monkeys Even though this was taken at the Riverview Park and Zoo in Peterborough, it was my first 'wildlife' type shot that looked half decent. The pose of the monkeys is great and the texture on the fur is even better.

Common Squirrel Monkeys Even though this was taken at the Riverview Park and Zoo in Peterborough, it was my first ‘wildlife’ type shot that looked half decent. The pose of the monkeys is great and the texture on the fur is even better.

Small Creek This shot was taken with my kit lens at 18mm, but it has a feeling of being taken from a wider angle lens. I like this shot because it began to open my eyes on the possibility of wide angle lenses for landscape photography. I now own a wide-angle lens and I blame it on this photo.

Small Creek This shot was taken with my kit lens at 18mm, but it has a feeling of being taken from a wider angle lens. I like this shot because it began to open my eyes on the possibility of wide angle lenses for landscape photography. I now own a wide-angle lens and I blame it on this photo.

Jalapeno One of my more serious attempts at macro photography yielded this cool image with awesome quality. I like how it reveals details and textures that you wouldn't normally notice.

Jalapeno One of my more serious attempts at macro photography yielded this cool image with awesome quality. I like how it reveals details and textures that you wouldn’t normally notice.

Quarry Filled With Water This was taken with a wide angle lens and a polarizing filter - teaching me that the lens type and filter type don't work well together. This shot is from an adventure into the abandoned Marmora Mine site - a fantastic photography excursion.

Quarry Filled With Water This was taken with a wide angle lens and a polarizing filter – teaching me that the lens type and filter type don’t work well together. This shot is from an adventure into the abandoned Marmora Mine site – a fantastic photography excursion.

The Walls Are Closing In Again, with the wide angle shot, I love how this shot captures a moment and the composition and textures just bring you into the image... also a great weekend trip with the family.

The Walls Are Closing In Again, with the wide angle shot, I love how this shot captures a moment and the composition and textures just bring you into the image… also a great weekend trip with the family.

Patrick in a Tunnel I chose this photo for a couple different reasons. The first being, that it is of my son having fun at a local maple syrup festival. The second is because I was reminded of how quick you need to act in certain photo situations. At the last second, I used the popup flash to illuminate him. Half a second later and I would have missed the shot.

Patrick in a Tunnel I chose this photo for a couple different reasons. The first being, that it is of my son having fun at a local maple syrup festival. The second is because I was reminded of how quick you need to act in certain photo situations. At the last second, I used the popup flash to illuminate him. Half a second later and I would have missed the shot.

Fine Tuners During a week of rain I took a bunch of photos of different musical instruments I have around the house. I like this shot because of the soft lighting and different perspective on a violin.

Fine Tuners During a week of rain I took a bunch of photos of different musical instruments I have around the house. I like this shot because of the soft lighting and different perspective on a violin.

The Path After being inspired by wide angle photography, I rented a lens for the week and took this shot down in Cobourg, Ontario. This shot works because of the perspective and composition, and that's why it's included here.

The Path After being inspired by wide angle photography, I rented a lens for the week and took this shot down in Cobourg, Ontario. This shot works because of the perspective and composition, and that’s why it’s included here.

Approaching Union My first outing with my new wide angle lens was into downtown Toronto. One problem with wide angle lenses it that they distort everything. If the camera is slightly tilted up, down, left or right, the image becomes very skewed. This was my first shot taking the time to ensure all the verticals were indeed vertical... and I like trains.

Approaching Union My first outing with my new wide angle lens was into downtown Toronto. One problem with wide angle lenses it that they distort everything. If the camera is slightly tilted up, down, left or right, the image becomes very skewed. This was my first shot taking the time to ensure all the verticals were indeed vertical… and I like trains.

My Glasses! This shot simply captures a great moment on Christmas morning, where William was having the time of his life playing with his mom. Also, I love the natural light and washed out look give the photo a warm, timeless feeling.

My Glasses! This shot simply captures a great moment on Christmas morning, where William was having the time of his life playing with his mom. Also, I love the natural light and washed out look give the photo a warm, timeless feeling.

CN 5623 & CN 2463 I've always had a fascination with trains, so I finally decided to mix photography and trains together with an awesome morning down in Newcastle. It's one thing to take a picture of a train, but to do it from a photography perspective is something completely different. 

CN 5623 & CN 2463 I’ve always had a fascination with trains, so I finally decided to mix photography and trains together with an awesome morning down in Newcastle. It’s one thing to take a picture of a train, but to do it from a photography perspective is something completely different. 

Land of Oz A wedding was the last thing I thought I'd be shooting this year, but when a good friend of mine asked if I would be the second photographer at a friends wedding, I couldn't resist. I learned a ton and am extremely grateful for the opportunity.

Land of Oz A wedding was the last thing I thought I’d be shooting this year, but when a good friend of mine asked if I would be the second photographer at a friends wedding, I couldn’t resist. I learned a ton and am extremely grateful for the opportunity.

First Day of School The photo title says it all. I also started experimenting more with slightly fading the photo in post to give a vintage type look.

First Day of School The photo title says it all. I also started experimenting more with slightly fading the photo in post to give a vintage type look.

Those Eyes. That Smile. This year was a big year for William. 10 months after being born, he was fitted with hearing aids and was able to properly hear us for the first time. One of the best moments of the year... if not of all time.

Those Eyes. That Smile. This year was a big year for William. 10 months after being born, he was fitted with hearing aids and was able to properly hear us for the first time. One of the best moments of the year… if not of all time.

Rogers Centre One of the cooler experiences from the year was to shoot the inside of the Rogers Centre from the hotel room when nobody was in it. Also got to experiment with panoramic shots which I haven't done much of.

Rogers Centre One of the cooler experiences from the year was to shoot the inside of the Rogers Centre from the hotel room when nobody was in it. Also got to experiment with panoramic shots which I haven’t done much of.

Spreading Seeds This is one of my favourite from the group because it's of my son in his own moment, but also because of the lighting. I love the backlighting which provides a warming rim light.

Spreading Seeds This is one of my favourite from the group because it’s of my son in his own moment, but also because of the lighting. I love the backlighting which provides a warming rim light.

Passing By I almost deleted this shot because I thought I missed the timing of the passing boat. It's hard to make out what is going on, but that's what I like about it.

Passing By I almost deleted this shot because I thought I missed the timing of the passing boat. It’s hard to make out what is going on, but that’s what I like about it.

Blue Eyes I only took this shot last week of my son William, but I've really been stretching my comfort zone of using a narrow depth of field. I find it very difficult to obtain focus. Although not tack sharp on the eyes, it still demonstrates the falloff from the front to back of the head. Also, I don't think I've seen cooler eyes.

Blue Eyes I only took this shot last week of my son William, but I’ve really been stretching my comfort zone of using a narrow depth of field. I find it very difficult to obtain focus. Although not tack sharp on the eyes, it still demonstrates the falloff from the front to back of the head. Also, I don’t think I’ve seen cooler eyes.

Tunnel I took this while on a street photography course and wanted to capture to differences in contrast and I thought it might make an interesting composition. I also really like how the timing puts the guy in the centre of the tunnel.

Tunnel I took this while on a street photography course and wanted to capture to differences in contrast and I thought it might make an interesting composition. I also really like how the timing puts the guy in the centre of the tunnel.

Lift Locks I like this shot simply because of the reflections and processing in black and white. It gives an almost abstract feel to Peterborough's famous landmark.

Lift Locks I like this shot simply because of the reflections and processing in black and white. It gives an almost abstract feel to Peterborough’s famous landmark.

Cordova Falls One of my favourite places to go shooting. The contrast in this shot really works for me. Whites and blacks rolled into a long exposure of flowing water... what's not to love.

Cordova Falls One of my favourite places to go shooting. The contrast in this shot really works for me. Whites and blacks rolled into a long exposure of flowing water… what’s not to love.

Out of the Fog I think this is a cool shot. It took a lot of planning and luck to get it. The first was to figure out when and where the trains ran; the second was to wait for a good fog to roll in during the time a train would be coming through. After a couple weeks of waiting in the fall, it all came together.

Out of the Fog I think this is a cool shot. It took a lot of planning and luck to get it. The first was to figure out when and where the trains ran; the second was to wait for a good fog to roll in during the time a train would be coming through. After a couple weeks of waiting in the fall, it all came together.

Little Feet This was my first family photo shoot that wasn't of my family. I took hundreds of shots that day and picked this one because I started to think outside of the box. 

Little Feet This was my first family photo shoot that wasn’t of my family. I took hundreds of shots that day and picked this one because I started to think outside of the box. 

And that’s it. If you made it all the way to the end, I thank you. Not sure what 2014 holds for photography but I’m looking forward to finding out!

Leave a Reply

