Edge of Ice

When I was at Warsaw Caves last weekend, I spent a bit of time focusing on a certain ice formation. I tried to capture it from a couple different angles and at one point was lying on my belly, foot in the water, camera resting on the ice trying to get a very low perspective shot. I though the images worked well in black and white since there’s not a whole lot of colour between the snow and the water, and I wanted to try and highlight the textures of the ice while being so close.

I separated these shots from the others I took and put them into a set called Edge of Ice which focuses on the contrast of water in its different states. For example, the second photo highlights change from the flowing water, which slowly freezes into clear ice, before eventually collecting snow.

I find that the texture really comes alive when viewing the full resolution version, so click on each photo!

Edge of Ice (1/25s, f/22, ISO800)

Edge of Ice (1/25s, f/22, ISO800)

Edge of Ice (1/2s, f/22, ISO100)

Edge of Ice (1/2s, f/22, ISO100)

Edge of Ice (1/100s, f/5.6, ISO800)

Edge of Ice (1/100s, f/5.6, ISO800)

Edge of Ice (1/320s, f/5.6, ISO800)

Edge of Ice (1/320s, f/5.6, ISO800)

