Maple Leaf Gardens

Last week I was in Toronto for work and had some time to get out shooting. Our hotel was right near Maple Leaf Gardens so I couldn’t resist checking it out. It looks nothing like I remember. The main floor is now a Loblaws store, the second floor is the new athletics centre for Ryerson and the upper floor is the arena. While it’s been completely overhauled, the original roof and support structures still remain. I’ve only been to the Gardens 3 times in my life: 1) for an NHL game in the early 80s with my dad; 2) for a circus performance; and, 3) when WWF wrestling came to town. Each time I probably spent more time gazing around the building than actually watching what was going on. I was hoping for the place to be empty the morning I was there, but instead there was some figure skating practice going on. Although it’s changed quite a bit, I still think it’s a fascinating building with tons of history. 

Maple Leaf Gardens (Panorama) (1/250s, f/4, ISO800)

Maple Leaf Gardens (Panorama) (1/250s, f/4, ISO800)

Seats at Maple Leaf Gardens (1/30s, f/5.6, ISO800)

Seats at Maple Leaf Gardens (1/30s, f/5.6, ISO800)

Maple Leaf Gardens (1/320s, f/4, ISO800)

Maple Leaf Gardens (1/320s, f/4, ISO800)

