Exakta Varex

 

This is a pretty neat little camera… and unfortunately it’s not mine. A friend from work acquired it and wanted to know more about it and if it still worked, so they let me borrow it for a couple weeks. Even though it was raining, I did manage to get out and shoot with it last weekend. This camera is completely manual. Not even a light meter to set the proper exposure, so I had to use an app on my iPhone.
The Exakta Varex IIa was produced by Ihagee Kamerawerk Steenbergen & Co. in Dresden, East Germany in between 1957-1963. The big innovation with this camera was to
swap the waist-level viewfinder with an eye-level finder. Personally, I prefer the waist-level finder which I found easier to focus. One of the awkward things about this camera is the location of the shutter release on the left side. It took a couple times to get used to.

Last Saturday I headed to an old cemetery and church just outside of Millbrook, Ontario to test out the camera. Below are a couple photos I took from my outing.

