Nikon F3 HP

Back in the spring I was down visiting a friend in Toronto and he showed me his Nikon F3 that he had recently acquired from his dad. The second I held it, I fell in love with it. It’s a bit heavier than I expected it, but to me, that’s just a sign of sturdy construction. This professional level 35mm SLR has everything I want in a film camera… and nothing more. Up to 1/2000s shutter speed, aperture priority mode, multiple exposure mode, a huge, bright viewfinder (which is helpful since I wear glasses). It was made in the 1980s and still accepts all my modern Nikon lenses which is a huge bonus. Still, I went out and purchased an inexpensive 35mm lens which seems to suit the camera style better, and it’s a focal length that I enjoy working with.

I had a chance to take it for a test run the other day during my lunch hour. After developing the film at home, I noticed that a couple of frames were only partially exposed (6th shot down), which I attribute to the shutter curtain sticking. I’ve taken it out for a couple extra test runs to try and narrow down the issue and hope it can be fixed fairly easily.

Below are a couple of the shots taken with the camera using my 50mm f/1.8 lens and a roll of Ilford HP5 Plus 400 black and white film which was developed in Ilfotec HC.

