Canonet GIII QL17 – First Thoughts

I had never really considered getting a rangefinder camera until I got my Pentax 6×7 – which weighs in at a whopping 2.6kg and started to get back problems. Bigger cameras and SLRs are great when you’re going out for a day of shooting. Not so much when you just want to carry something small in your bag or pocket. While at a film photography meet up back in October, there was a give-away contest going on and a table full of stuff, including 2 rangefinder cameras. I had noticed there wasn’t really a lot of interest in the Canonet, so I put my name in for it and won!

I really dig this camera because it is small and silent. You really have to listen carefully to hear the leaf shutter fire. This can be a good thing when you’re trying to keep a low profile. It makes a quiet tick sound and that’s it. The lens is great too as it opens up to f/1.7.

On the other hand, I like hearing sound of camera shutters. You don’t even feel the shutter fire in this camera. I wish there was a lock on the shutter release button, as I’ve accidentally hit it a couple times. This has auto exposure in shutter-priority mode, which I don’t really care for. I prefer to select my aperture and let the camera decide on the shutter speed, not the other way around. Also, the film advance knob on this camera gets stuck and you have to work it back and forth a couple times before it releases which is annoying.

Below are a couple of my favourite shots from the 3 rolls I’ve run through it. Check out my Flickr album for the rest of the shots from this camera.

Rusted in the Woods//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsSelf Portrait//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsTown of Killarney//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsToronto Film Shooters Meetup - November 2015 - The Distillery Historic District//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsAfternoon at the Park//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

