Pushing Ilford HP5 Plus

This past weekend was a lazy one. Which is a good thing, because with Christmas coming up, I have a feeling it’s going to get busy. My supply of film in the freezer is slowly dwindling as I haven’t been replacing it lately. I wanted to shoot some indoor shots of my family, but only had film rated at 400 ISO/ASA. I’ve heard of pushing and pulling film before, but never tried it for some reason – possibly for the fear of messing it up. Pushing film is when you take a film rated for a particular speed, say 400, and shoot it at something faster, such as 800 or 1600 and compensate for the difference when developing the film. This past weekend I shot some HP5 Plus 400 at 1600 and was pleasantly surprised at the results. I was told that the photos come out a lot grainier, but it was a lot less than I had expected. I have a tendency to pixel peep, or in this case, zoom right in to assess quality, and have to keep reminding myself about viewing a photo at a reasonable distance.  Below are a couple shots that were taken this past weekend.

A Saturday at Home//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsA Saturday at Home//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsA Saturday at Home//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsApple Of My Eye//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsA Saturday at Home//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

