Kodak Pony II – First Thoughts

Prizes for Expired Film Day//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsKodak Pony II//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Way back in March, there was an online -based event called Expired Film Day, which was create to encourage film photographers to use expired film and share results. As part of the event, photographers could submit images and possibly win some prizes. It just so happens that one of my shots was selected in the “most obviously expired film” category and I ended up winning a Kodak Pony II camera, flash and 4 rolls of expired film.

The day I received the camera, I took it down to the waterfront in Peterborough for a test run. It’s a fun camera to use with minimal settings. The shutter speed is set at 1/60th of a second, so the exposure is set by modifying the aperture. Focus is obtained by using the measurements on the lens. I found that focus was off for some of the settings.

Below are a couple of shots that I got that were in decent focus. At the time I hao idea what kind of film was loaded in the camera, which just added to the fun!

Peterborough Marina//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsDragon Boat//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsPeterborough Marina//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsPeterborough Marina//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

