Cross-Processing Colour Slide Film

Cross-processing is something I’ve heard and read about, but never had the guts to try it myself. The premise is simple, take some slide film and processes it using the a different process – in this case, the process for colour negatives, or C-41. Now why would you want to process film in any other way than it was originally intended? Simple. Processing colour slide film is way more expensive (more me anyways). I have the chemicals to process black and white, and colour negative film at home, but colour slide (positive) film needs to be sent to a lab. And there’s not many labs left (in Canada anyways), that still process slide film. The closest one being in Montreal. The cost of shipping and processing a single roll really adds up.

The alternative? Develop it as if it were colour negative film. I can do it at home for a fraction of the cost and don’t have to wait weeks to see the results. The trade-off? Increased grain and some obvious colour shifts. The shots below were taken on a Yashica MAT-124 using Lomography Colour Slide 200 film during a bike ride a couple weeks back. Not sure if I’m sold on the effect/results, but am happy that I tried it.

