Fed-3a – First Thoughts

This was a camera that I purchased back in August. For some time now, I’ve been looking at getting another rangefinder camera. I forget how, when, or where I first saw some Soviet era cameras, but I do remember that I loved the look at them. They are obvious knock offs of Leicas, but for $20 instead of several thousand. This particular camera took almost 2 month to get to me from Siberia, and I had all but given up waiting for it. Anyways, I’ve only taken it out once and loved it!

I have a feeling the the rangefinder is misaligned vertically, so it is a bit more difficult to find focus, but I’m not too worried about it. I’m just happy it worked at all considering the Russian to English translation on eBay wasn’t exactly clear.

I still need some practice shooting without a light meter. Most of my SLRs and even my TLR have built in light meters that help adjust exposure. Since I don’t currently have a dedicated light meter, I’m stuck using my smartphone… which I can’t stand, but I guess it gets the job done. Anyways, below are a couple of shots from my first roll.

One thought on “Fed-3a – First Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Toronto Film Shooters Meetup – Spring 2017 | Adventures in Photography

Comments are closed.