100 Days Project

I once tried a 365 project… that is… taking a photo a day, for an entire year. I only made it to about day 40 before giving up. I didn’t have any real focus or goal to achieve. So when my friend Steve asked if I’d be interested in doing a 100 Days Project, I was a bit hesitant. The thinking behind the 100 Days Project was to do something creative every day for 100 days. I decided to give it another shot. This time, I was setting some ground rules for the photos.

  1. All photos should be taken with a smartphone;
  2. All photos would have the same aspect ration and orientation;
  3. Each photo would have a meaning and try to capture something of importance that happened on that specific day.

At about day 70, I really didn’t want to do it anymore and decided that these types of projects really aren’t for me. Being forced to take a meaningful photo every day, isn’t my cup of tea. Coming this far already, I didn’t want to give up and pushed on to the full 100 days. I will admit that I didn’t take a photo every single day… either because nothing interesting happened that day, I didn’t feel like it, or I simply forgot.

Although I probably won’t do a project like this again, it got me thinking about photography projects in general. Something that I’ve wanted explore more, but simply haven’t had the time or an idea that I think would make a good project. I’d like to focus (pun intended) on something with no set time limits and that I can just plug away with when it suits me.

The photos below, capture (for me anyways) something that happened on that particular day. It generally, won’t have any meaning to the viewer, but based on each photo, I could probably tell you what happened that day and what inspired me to take a picture. Anyways, below are the 100 shots from this project. To see the full size photos, head on over to my Flickr album for the project.

Leave a Reply

