Ice Fishing

Last Monday was Family Day and also free fishing weekend… meaning, no fishing licence was required for the whole weekend. I thought it would be a great opportunity to try out the ice fishing gear that’s just been collecting dust in my garage. I’ve only ever been ice fishing once and it just turned into an afternoon of drinking beer on a frozen lake with my brother… no fish were caught.

I packed up the van with the little gear I own, a toboggan, camera and my oldest son and drove 10 minutes up the road to Chemong Lake at Bridgenorth. It had been quite warm the previous couple days and the lake was covered with about 6 inches of slush and water. After drilling out hole, we learned the ice was between 15″ and 17″ – more than thick enough to support ourselves. We spent 2.5 hours sitting and chatting in the sun and finally my son pulled a yellow perch through the hole and was elated. It was the only fish caught by use all afternoon. Back in the car, my son said “Daddy, it’s okay that you didn’t catch a fish… maybe next time”. Below are some of my favourite shots taken on my Nikon F100 and an expired roll of Kodak Vericolor III VPS 160 film.

Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake Ice Fishing on Chemong Lake

 

 

Leave a Reply

